Commonwealth Games Sports

​Did you kno​​​​w?

There are thirteen core​​ sports for the 2018 games, as selected by the Commonwealth Games Federation.  They are:

  • Athletics - combined events (Decathlon for men and Heptathlon for women)
  • Athletics - field events (Discus, Hammer, High Jump, Javelin, Long Jump, Pole Vault, Shot Put and Triple Jump)
  • Athletics - road events (Marathon and Walk)
  • Athletics - track events (Running, Hurdles and Steeplechase)
  • Aquatics - swimming and diving
  • Badminton
  • Boxing
  • Hockey
  • Lawn Bowls
  • Netball
  • Squash
  • Rugby 7's
  • Weightlifting

Whichever city wins t​he bid to host the 2018 games will then add up to seven more sports.

There are​ also four sports chosen by the Commonwealth Games Federation for the Para-Sports program, for athletes with a disability. These sports are:

  • Athletics - track and field
  • Aquatics
  • Lawn Bowls
  • Power Lifting​

How old will you be in 2018​​? Which sport might you compete in?